Friday, 6 January 2017

The 24 Books of the Hebrew Scriptures

From RRW

"The first division of the Hebrew Scriptures is called תּוֹרָהTorah. This word is often mistakenly translated as "Law", but while it is undeniably true that the books of the Torahdivision do contain all the laws God gave to Yisraél, the word itself is related to הוֹרָאָה hora'ah, derived from the verb לְהוֹרֹת to teach, and means a "teaching"."
Instruction might be even better than ‎teaching

No comments: